Information on Vehicle Impoundment
If you have been arrested for DUI, even if it is a first time offense, your vehicle may be subject to impoundment for a period of up to 30 days. Drivers with a prior DUI offense that was committed within the past 10 years are especially at risk for vehicle impoundment. Your car can also be impounded if you are stopped for DUI and found to be driving without a license, or a license that has been suspended or revoked. The loss of a vehicle can create considerable hardships, particularly if the car is used for transportation to work, school or other important obligations. You may also be facing the payment of excessive fees to have your vehicle released, including towing and storage.
Why a Vehicle May be Impounded
DUI charges can be extremely serious. You will need capable legal representation to ensure your rights are protected. Our firm can explain the DUI laws that pertain to your case, and discuss your defense options. Some of the reasons your vehicle may be impounded include:
- Having a blood alcohol content above the legal limit;
- Being involved in an accident at the time of your arrest;
- The accident resulting in injuries or fatalities; and
- Having a prior DUI conviction
Contact an attorney from Floyd, Skeren & Kelly, LLP if you have been arrested for DUI and your vehicle has been impounded. We can provide the skilled advocacy you will need if you have been arrested for DUI and your vehicle has been impounded. A qualified lawyer at our office can explain your rights to a hearing regarding the impoundment, and provide further legal assistance to get your car released. We are a highly competent DUI defense firm that can give you reliable legal advice regarding your arrest, vehicle impoundment,
DUI testing and the
DUI court process.
§ 14602.6 – California Vehicle Code
According to the California Vehicle Code, you should get a notice by mail if your vehicle is impounded. If your vehicle is impounded after being arrested for a DUI, then in order to pick your vehicle back up you will have to pay the necessary impoundment fees based upon how long your car was at the lot. Governor Jerry Brown signed a law in 2011 that would reduce the number of vehicles that police officers impounded at drunk driving checkpoints. Statistically, each car that gets impounded is worth about $2,000 after the full amount of fines and fees are paid. Vehicles are most commonly impounded because a driver was driving on a suspended license, a revoked license or they do not have a valid license at all. Vehicle impoundments typically last for 30 calendar days. Second infractions of this nature might mean you risk having your car forfeited. For more information on vehicle impoundment, you can contact our firm today.